Navigation auf


Department of Political Science



IPZ and sustainability

The Institute's strategy focuses on the medium-term development of the Institute and is adopted by the Institute's Assembly. The strategic goals contained therein set the framework for operational priorities and concrete measures, which are continuously concretised in an action plan by the Institute's Board of Directors.

The Institute's strategy includes objectives in six thematic areas:

  1. Transversal research priorities
  2. Impact on science
  3. Impact on society
  4. Study and teaching
  5. Promotion of young researchers
  6. Diversity and Sustainability


IPZ Impact Award: Cooperation with non-university partners

The IPZ places a high value on public relations. We are committed to making scientific findings and the social relevance of our research visible and understandable beyond the academic communities.

In addition to media work, the most important instrument for this is direct cooperation with non-university actors (stakeholders). The IPZ Impact Award focuses explicitly on this form of outreach.

The IPZ Impact Award: Aim, procedure, endowment

The IPZ Impact Award honours cooperation projects with non-university partners. A wide variety of cooperation projects that generate an impact can be proposed, e.g. a classic research cooperation with non-university partners, a special outreach publication, a cooperative conference project, a consultancy or scientific support of a non-university partner, a teaching project, a Capstone, etc. The aim of the IPZ Impact Award is to promote and support the cooperation of non-university partners.

The aim of the IPZ Impact Award is to record and honour all collaborative projects, with an additional award for a particularly promising project. However, all projects are to be recognised at the Institute Conference in November.

A jury consisting of members of the IPZ (staff and students) selects one project each year from the proposals submitted. In addition to a scientific yield, the cooperation project should above all generate a concrete added value of our research for society. The results of the cooperation project should reach their target groups, stimulate innovative types of interactions, processes and discourses or contribute in other ways to solving societal challenges.

The IPZ Impact Award is endowed with CHF 500 and will be awarded at the General Department Assembly in November.

Nomination for the IPZ Impact Award

Nomination:  Members of the IPZ can nominate their own projects or those of others. Projects can either be ongoing or have been completed in 2024.
Ongoing projects or projects completed in 2024 that have been nominated last year but did not win the Award can be nominated again.

Selection criteria: scientific quality and originality; return for all partners involved; added value for society.

Deadline: 16.09.2024; (beginning of the autumn semester).

Documents to be submitted: A single document containing the following information:

  1. Project title and duration/period
  2. Participants on both sides: IPZ (all names) and cooperation partner (organisation, project partner).
  3. Short description of the content of the project (max. 300 words)
  4. Short description of the cooperation results achieved so far, as well as the added value of the cooperation (max. 300 words)

Members of the selection jury: One member each from the professorial staff, the mid-level faculty, the ATP, the students, as well as external lecturers and/or advanced researchers.

Submission to:


Nominations last year

  1. Daniel KÜBLER, Andri HEIMANN, Robin GUT, Francesco VERI: “Bürgerpanels für mehr Klimaschutz im Kanton Zürich“

    “Designing Effective Regulation for Carbon Markets at the International, National, & Subnational Level”

  3. Cindy BISCHOFBERGER, Josephine SMITH, Mario HEDIGER, Julian FERBER, Steven HILL, Karsten DONNAY: “Geschichten der Heimat – Capstone Project”

  4. Garret BINDING, Judith SPIRIG, Anja GROB: “Home Economics and Gender Differences in Household Labor”

  5. Fabrizio GILARDI, Karsten DONNAY, Maël KUBLI, Natalia UMANSKY: “Stop Hate Speech”

    “UZH Weiterbildung für Lehrer:innen an Maturitätsschulen «National- und Ständeratswahlen“

    “Wählerschaft und Perspektiven der Sozialdemokratie in der Schweiz“

  8. Thomas KURER, Reto BÜRGISSER:
    “White Collar Automation: Digitalization, Labor Market Entry & Political Demands among White Collar Employees in CH”

  9. Fabian AIOLFI, Sarah BERKINSHAW, Tabea PALMTAG, Lucas LEEMANN: “Youth Participation”