Navigation auf


Department of Political Science

Curricular Requirements

Compulsory Curricular Requirements

Under Graduate School regulations, the Democracy Studies curriculum consists of 12 ECTS, divided into 8 ECTS of Core Modules and 4 ECTS of Advances Modules.

The core modules are compulsory for all Democracy Studies PhD candidates.

In particular, the following Democracy Studies curricular requirements apply:

Within the doctoral programme “Democracy Studies” the PhD candidate (name):

  • completes Democracy Theory (2 ECTS)  
  • completes Empirical Approaches to Democracy (2 ECTS)  
  • participates in one Swiss Summer School in Democracy Studies (2 ECTS)
  • participates in all Democracy Studies colloquia and present a research outline by the first year (1 ECTS) and deliver either their research results, a chapter of their thesis, or do a mock defence towards the end of the doctorate (1 ECTS)

Doctoral Agreement

The Democracy Studies curricular requirements should be listed in the students’ first Doctoral Agreement submitted within 16 weeks after admission to doctoral studies. PhD candidates draw up and update their doctoral agreement via Online PhD Admin Services.

The departments of PhD candidates’ main supervisor within the subject group Social Sciences (Communication and Media Research, Cultural Studies, Political Science, Social and Cultural Anthropology, Sociology) will award the doctoral degree; therefore, discipline-specific requirements apply.

To apply for graduation, PhD candidates in Political Science must complete 12 ECTS in their discipline, Communication and Media Research 8 ECTS, while no formal requirements stand for Sociology, Social and Cultural Anthropology.

Weiterführende Informationen


Democracy Studies at UZH

ECTS Record

The contact person to check the ECTS Record and apply for graduation is the PhD candidates’ coordinator for Social Sciences Dr Doreen Spörer-Wagner.