Alberto Lopez Ortega

Alberto Lopez Ortega

PhD student

Phone: +41 44 634 58 20

alberto.lopezortega@uzh.ch

Curriculum vitae

Born in 1992 in Southern Spain, I obtained my double major-degree in Law and Political Science from the University of Pablo de Olavide of Seville in 2016, with a Bachelor thesis about local e-governance using quantitative methods.

Then I followed a Master in Political and Electoral Analysis at Carlos III University-Juan March Institute of Madrid which I completed in 2017 where I specialized in experimental research on electoral studies and behavioral politics. My dissertation was titled: The personalization of politics in parliamentary democracies: a conjoint experiment in Spain. During the time of my master studies, I was a Research Assistant at the Department of Political Science, Duke University collaborating in the Project “Women in Combat” (Principal Investigator: Prof. Laia Balcells).

After the MA studies, I received a scholarship to assist to the summer school in the Centre for Experimental Social Sciences Nuffield (University of Oxford) where I could learn the latest techniques used in experimental social sciences.

Since October 2017, I am a PhD candidate at IPZ, where I collaborate in the research project "The Effect of Campaign Events on Direct Democratic Choices; Evidence from Prediction Markets”.

Research focus

Personalization of politics, leadership studies, political campaigns, political behaviour, experimental methods and prediction markets.

Alberto Lopez Ortega

Alberto Lopez Ortega

PhD student

Tel.: +41 44 634 58 20

alberto.lopezortega@uzh.ch

Curriculum Vitae

Ich wurde 1992 in Südspanien geboren und erhielt 2016 meinen Doppelabschluss in Rechts- und Politikwissenschaften an der Universität von Pablo de Olavide in Sevilla mit einer Bachelorarbeit über lokale E-Governance mit quantitativen Methoden.

Anschließend absolvierte ich einen Master in politischer und Wahlanalyse am Carlos-III-Universität-Juan-March-Institut in Madrid, den ich 2017 abschloss und auf experimentelle Forschung zu Wahlstudien und Verhaltenspolitik spezialisierte. Meine Dissertation hatte den Titel: Die Personalisierung der Politik in parlamentarischen Demokratien: ein gemeinsames Experiment in Spanien. Während meines Masterstudiums war ich wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Duke University und arbeitete am Projekt „Frauen im Kampf“ mit (Principal Investigator: Prof. Laia Balcells).

Nach dem MA-Studium erhielt ich ein Stipendium für die Sommerschule im Zentrum für experimentelle Sozialwissenschaften in Nuffield (Universität Oxford), wo ich die neuesten Techniken der experimentellen Sozialwissenschaften erlernen konnte.

Seit Oktober 2017 bin ich Doktorand am IPZ, wo ich am Forschungsprojekt "The Effect of Campaign Events on Direct Democratic Choices; Evidence from Prediction Markets.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Personalisierung von Politik, Führungsstudien, politischen Kampagnen, politisches Verhalten, experimentelle Methoden und Prognosemärkte.