Eri Bertsou, Dr.

Eri Bertsou, Dr.

Oberassistentin / Senior Researcher

Phone: 044 634 52 51

bertsou@ipz.uzh.ch

Curriculum vitae

I joined the Department of Political Science in September 2015 as a post-doctoral researcher at the Chair of Comparative Politics. I am completing my doctorate at the London School of Economics and my PhD thesis examines citizens’ distrust towards politicians and political institutions in Europe. Since 2012, I have been part of the ECREP research initiative in Electoral Psychology at the London School of Economics. I hold an MSc in Political Communication from the London School of Economics, a BA in Philosophy and Literature from the University of Warwick and have professional experience in international financial markets.

My research belongs to the field of comparative political behaviour. I am particularly interested in the formation and effects of political attitudes, such as political distrust, democratic support and party identification, explaining the cognitive processes behind them and exploring the links to citizens’ decision-making process. My current research focuses on the issue of democratic representation, the way in which citizens support political parties and relate to the political system, and attempts to address the challenges of technocratic and populist politics.

Methodologically, I work mainly with survey data and I am interested in creating and testing new measures for capturing political attitudes. I also use survey experiments and causal inference methods for observational studies to examine causal relationships.

In the Academic year 2015/2016 I will be teaching an elective course in Political Culture and a research seminar on Political Representation with Prof. Daniele Caramani. I have previously taught courses in European Comparative Politics and in Quantitative Analysis at the London School of Economics.

You can find more about my research at my website or follow me on twitter @EriBertsou.

Eri Bertsou, Dr.

Eri Bertsou, Dr.

Oberassistentin / Senior Researcher

Tel.: 044 634 52 51

bertsou@ipz.uzh.ch

Curriculum Vitae

Ich bin seit September 2015 als Postdoktorandin am Lehrstuhl für Vergleichende Politikwissenschaft am Institut für Politikwissenschaft tätig. Ich promoviere an der London School of Economics und meine Doktorarbeit untersucht das Misstrauen der Bürger gegenüber Politikern und politischen Institutionen in Europa. Seit 2012 bin ich Teil der ECREP-Forschungsinitiative für Wahlpsychologie an der London School of Economics. Ich habe einen MSc in politischer Kommunikation von der London School of Economics, einen BA in Philosophie und Literatur von der University of Warwick und Berufserfahrung auf den internationalen Finanzmärkten.

Meine Forschung gehört zum Bereich des vergleichenden politischen Verhaltens. Ich interessiere mich besonders für die Bildung und die Auswirkungen politischer Einstellungen wie politisches Misstrauen, demokratische Unterstützung und Parteiidentifikation, die Erklärung der dahinterstehenden kognitiven Prozesse und die Untersuchung der Zusammenhänge mit dem Entscheidungsprozess der Bürger. Meine aktuelle Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Frage der demokratischen Repräsentation, die Art und Weise, wie Bürger politische Parteien unterstützen und sich auf das politische System beziehen, und versucht, die Herausforderungen der technokratischen und populistischen Politik anzugehen.

Methodisch arbeite ich hauptsächlich mit Umfragedaten und bin daran interessiert, neue Maßnahmen zur Erfassung politischer Einstellungen zu entwickeln und zu testen. Ich benutze auch Umfrageexperimente und kausale Inferenzmethoden für Beobachtungsstudien, um kausale Zusammenhänge zu untersuchen..

Im akademischen Jahr 2015/2016 unterrichtete ich einen Wahlkurs in politischer Kultur und ein Forschungsseminar über politische Repräsentation bei Prof. Daniele Caramani. Ich habe zuvor Kurse in europäischer vergleichender Politik und quantitativer Analyse an der London School of Economics unterrichtet.

Weitere Informationen zu meiner Forschung finden Sie auf meiner Website oder folgen Sie mir auf Twitter @EriBertsou.