FAQ's MA

I would like to take on the Master's major in Political Science at the UZH. I have a Bachelor's degree in another subject from another university. Will I be admitted?

In principle, the following applies: The regulations governing admission to study at the University of Zurich (RZS) are authoritative for admission. The subject of Political Science in the main subject is consecutive, i.e. the prerequisite for the Master's degree (120 or 90 ECTS) is a completed Bachelor's degree in Political Science (Political Science events of at least 60 ECTS). If you would like a detailed examination of your admission, please apply regularly for a Master at the UZH. More information can be obtained here. We will only provide information on a possible admission at our department if your dossier (including all documents) has been thoroughly examined by the UZH. It is possible that you will be subject to admission requirements, which means that you can, for example, complete some courses from the Bachelor's program parallel to your Master's.

In the case of applicants with a foreign education, two conditions must be fulfilled for a Master's degree at the University of Zurich:

a) The university where you completed your Bachelor's degree must be recognized and accredited in Switzerland.

b) Your Bachelor's degree must entitle you to a Master's degree at your home university.

For the clarification of these two points, you can apply directly to the admission office for foreign students. This office will then decide about your admission into the MA with main subject Political Science and on any conditions or restrictions.

What are the prerequisites for admission to the big MA minor in Political Science (30 ECTS)?

The regulations governing admission to study at the University of Zurich (RZS) are decisive for admission. Prerequisite for the Master's degree in the big Political Science minor is a completed Bachelor's degree with the big Political Science minor (60 ECTS). Here you can find more information about the Master's application.

What are the prerequisites for admission to the small MA minor in Political Science (15 ECTS)?

The regulations governing admission to study at the University of Zurich (RZS) are decisive for admission. Prerequisite for the Master's degree in the small minor subject Political Science is a completed Bachelor's degree with the small minor Political Science (30 ECTS). Here you can find further information for the Master application.

In addition to the "Master of Arts in Social Sciences" in Political Science, is there another Master program in Political Science in Zurich?

Do I have to study in the MA with the same subject combination as in the BA?

Theoretically not. You can also apply for a different combination of subjects. However, you may be rejected in certain subjects due to a lack of prior education, or you might be subject to conditions and restrictions, e.g., that you have to complete additional courses.

What is the "Studium Generale"?

In the small MA minor Political Science (15 ECTS) at least three credit points must be collected in the form of the Studium Generale. This is a module (at least 3 ECTS), which can be freely selected by the students from the entire university (UZH and language center). The Studium Generale plays no role for MA main subject (90/120 credits) and big MA minor (30 credits) in Political Science.

When will the Master Colloquium, which is to be completed parallel to the composing of the Master's thesis, be held?

Every semester.

FAQ's MA

Ich würde gerne an der UZH das Master-Hauptfach Politikwissenschaft belegen. Ich verfüge über einen Bachelor-Abschluss in einem anderen Fach von einer anderen Uni. Werde ich zugelassen?

Grundsätzlich gilt: Massgebend für die Zulassung ist das Reglement über die Zulassung zum Studium an der Universität Zürich (RZS). Das Hauptfach Politikwissenschaft ist konsekutiv, das heisst die Voraussetzung für das Master-Studium (120 oder 90 Kreditpunkte) ist ein abgeschlossenes Bachelor-Studium in Politikwissenschaft (politikwissenschaftliche Veranstaltungen mindestens im Umfang von 60 Kreditpunkten). Wenn Sie eine detaillierte Prüfung Ihrer Zulassung wünschen, bewerben Sie sich bitte regulär für einen Master an der UZH. Mehr Informationen dazu finden Sie hier. Wir erteilen bezüglich einer möglichen Zulassung erst Auskunft, wenn Ihr Dossier (inkl. sämtlicher Unterlagen) an der UZH eingehend geprüft wurde. Es ist möglich, dass Ihnen bei einer Zulassung Auflagen gestellt werden, das kann bedeuten, dass Sie z. B. einige Kurse aus dem Bachelor-Angebot parallel zu Ihrem Master absolvieren.

Bei Bewerbenden mit ausländischer Vorbildung müssen für ein Master-Studium an der Universität Zürich zwei Bedingungen erfüllt sein:

a) Die Universität, an welcher Sie den Bachelor-Abschluss gemacht haben, muss in der Schweiz anerkannt und akkreditiert sein.

b) Ihr Bachelor-Abschluss muss Sie an Ihrer Heimuniversität zum Master-Studium berechtigen.

Für die Abklärung dieser beiden Punkte können Sie sich direkt an die Zulassungsstelle für Studierende mit ausländischer Vorbildung wenden. Diese wird dann über Ihre Zulassung in das MA-Hauptfach Politikwissenschaft und allfällige Bedingungen oder Auflagen entscheiden.

Welches sind die Voraussetzungen für die Zulassung zum grossen MA-Nebenfach in Politikwissenschaft (30 KP)?

Massgebend für die Zulassung ist das Reglement über die Zulassung zum Studium an der Universität Zürich (RZS). Voraussetzung für das Masterstudium im grossen Nebenfach Politikwissenschaft ist ein abgeschlossenes Bachelor-Studium mit dem Grossen Nebenfach Politikwissenschaft (60 KP). Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zur Master-Bewerbung.

Welches sind die Voraussetzungen für die Zulassung zum kleinen MA-Nebenfach in Politikwissenschaft (15 KP)?

Massgebend für die Zulassung ist das Reglement über die Zulassung zum Studium an der Universität Zürich (RZS). Voraussetzung für das Master-Studium im kleinen Nebenfach Politikwissenschaft ist ein abgeschlossenes Bachelor-Studium mit dem kleinen Nebenfach Politikwissenschaft (30 KP). Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen für unsere Master-Bewerbung.

Gibt es in Zürich neben dem "Master of Arts in Sozialwissenschaften" im Fach Politikwissenschaft noch andere Master-Studiengänge im Bereich Politikwissenschaft?

Ja, eine Übersicht finden Sie auf der Website des Center for Comparative and International Studies (CIS).

Muss ich im Master mit derselben Fächerkombination studieren wie im Bachelor?

Theoretisch nicht. Sie können sich auch für eine andere Fächerkombination bewerben. Es kann aber sein, dass Sie in gewissen Fächern auf Grund mangelnder Vorbildung abgelehnt werden oder dass man Ihnen Bedingungen stellt, z. B. dass Sie Veranstaltungen zusätzlich belegen müssen.

Was ist das "Studium Generale"?

Im kleinen MA-Nebenfach Politikwissenschaft (15 KP) müssen mindestens drei Kreditpunkte in Form vom Studium Generale gesammelt werden. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Modul (mind. 3 KP), welches aus dem Angebot der gesamten Universität (UZH und Sprachzentrum) von den Studierenden frei ausgewählt werden kann. Das Studium Generale spielt für das MA-Hauptfach (90/120 KP) und das grosse MA-Nebenfach (30 KP) im Fach Politikwissenschaft keine Rolle.

Wann wird jeweils das Master-Kolloquium , das parallel zum Verfassen der Masterarbeit absolviert werden soll, angeboten?

Das Master-Kolloquium wird jedes Semester angeboten.